There are thirty-nine general categories of labor that are forbidden on Shabbat. Each of these categories include a range of derivative laws and activities, some of which are described in "The Shabbat Laws." The melachot are generally divided into six groups, classified according to the Mishkan's activities with which they are associated.

Read: An Introduction to the 39 Melachot

Field Work

Making Material Curtains

Making Leather Curtains

Making the Beams of the Mishkan

The Putting up and Taking down of the Mishkan

The Mishkan's Final Touches