Milk of kosher animals is kosher (provided that it is not eaten together with meat or processed in “meat” utensils or dishes). In theory, feta cheese made from kosher milk is also kosher. However, care needs to be taken to ensure that the cheese was not made with non-kosher rennet and that other non-kosher ingredients are not added.

Jewish law requires that a mashgiach (Jewish supervisor) must oversee the process to ensure that only milk from kosher animals is used and that only kosher ingredients have been added. For this reason (and others), only feta cheese with a reliable kosher certification may be eaten.

So, is feta cheese kosher? It may be, but be sure to check the label first!