Like all other highly processed foods, ice cream can contain many dozens of ingredients. So in order for ice cream to be accepted as kosher, it needs to be marked kosher by a reliable certifying agency.

Note that dairy ice cream may not be served after a meat meal.

Also note that many people are particular to consume only dairy products—including ice-cream—that are marked as chalav Yisrael, meaning that a Jewish person observed the milking process and can attest to the fact that only kosher milk was used. Today, there are many excellent brands of chalav Yisrael ice creams available in Israel, the US, and major Jewish population centers.

There has also been a proliferation of kosher non-dairy ice creams in recent years (often carried in major chain stores), allowing you to serve this tasty and refreshing dessert after any meal.