Many, but not all, cakes are kosher. Some cakes contain non-kosher ingredients or are processed on the same equipment as non-kosher products, so it is imperative to purchase cakes that are certified kosher.

Also, some cakes (such as cheesecakes) contain dairy, which can be kosher provided that they are not eaten together with meat or processed in “meat” utensils or dishes.

So is store-bought cake kosher? It may be, but be sure to check the label first!

If you are baking a cake at home, only purchase ingredients with kosher certification. Cheese is especially sensitive because Jewish law requires that a mashgiach (Jewish supervisor) must oversee the process to ensure that only milk from kosher animals is used and that only kosher ingredients have been added.

In addition, it is preferable to use pat Yisrael products whenever possible. This means that a Jewish person has baked (or assisted in the baking of) the products. Even if he or she simply lights the oven, it is considered as having assisted.

Eating homemade cakes made by a non-Jew with no Jewish involvement is forbidden by halachah, even if they contain only kosher ingredients and perfectly kosher equipment was used.