Olive oil is one of the seven types with which Israel is blessed and has a long proud history in Jewish worship (it was used in the Holy Temple for sacrifices and to fuel the menorah) and cuisine.

Pure olive oil (not produced in Israel) is kosher and should, theoretically, need no further certification. However, due to concerns of contamination and other ingredients being mixed in, oil should (and often does) have rabbinical supervision.