The name of the Parshah, “Behar,” means “on Mount [Sinai]” and it is found in Leviticus 25:1.

On the mountain of Sinai, G‑d communicates to Moses the laws of the Sabbatical year: every seventh year, all work on the land should cease, and its produce becomes free for the taking for all, man and beast.

Seven Sabbatical cycles are followed by a fiftieth year—the Jubilee year, on which work on the land ceases, all indentured servants are set free, and all ancestral estates in the Holy Land that have been sold revert to their original owners.

Behar also contains additional laws governing the sale of lands, and the prohibitions against fraud and usury.

Learn: Behar in Depth
Browse: Behar Parshah Columnists
Prep: Devar Torah Q&A for Behar
Read: Haftarah in a Nutshell
Play: Behar Parshah Quiz