1

Any food that is produced from forbidden species for which lashes are given for partaking of1 is forbidden to be eaten according to Scriptural Law, e.g., milk from a forbidden species of domesticated animal or wild beast or the eggs of a forbidden species of birds or fish. [This is derived from Leviticus 11:16 which mentions]: "the bat of the ostrich." [Our Sages2 commented:] "This refers to its egg." The same law applies to all species that are forbidden like an ostrich and all entities [that are produce] like eggs.

א

כל מאכל היוצא ממין מן המינין האסורין שלוקין על אכילתן הרי אותו המאכל אסור באכילה מן התורה כגון חלב בהמה וחיה הטמאים וביצי עוף ודג הטמאים שנאמר ואת בת היענה זו ביצתה והוא הדין לכל האסור כיענה ולכל הדברים הדומין לביצה:

2

Human milk is permitted to be eaten,3 although the meat of a human is forbidden to be eaten. We have already explained4 that it is forbidden by virtue of a positive commandment.5

ב

חלב האדם מותר באכילה אף על פי שבשר האדם אסור באכילה וכבר ביארנו שהוא בעשה:

3

Honey produced by bees and hornets6 is permitted. [The rationale is that] it is not a product of their bodies. Instead, it is collected in their mouths from herbs and then expelled in their hive so that they will be able to partake of it in the rainy season.

ג

דבש דבורים ודבש צרעים מותר מפני שאינו מתמצית גופן אלא כונסין אותו מן העשבים בתוך פיהן ומקיאין אותו בכורת כדי שימצאו אותו לאכול ממנו בימות הגשמים:

4

Although human milk is permitted, our Sages prohibited an adult to nurse from [a woman's] breasts. Instead, the woman should express it into a container7 and the adult should partake of it. An adult who nurses from [a woman's] breast is like one who nurses from a teeming animal.8 He is given stripes for rebellious conduct.

ד

אע"פ שחלב אדם מותר אסרו חכמים לגדול לינק אותו מן השדים אלא חולבת אשה לתוך הכלי ושותה וגדול שינק מן השד כיונק שרץ ומכין אותו מכת מרדות:

5

An infant may continue to nurse for even four or five years. If, however, he was weaned for three days or more in a state of health and not because of sickness, he should not be allowed to nurse again.9 [The above applies] provided he was weaned after 24 months. If he was weaned within that time, even if he was weaned for a month or two, it is permitted to have him nurse again until the conclusion of 24 months.10

ה

יונק תינוק והולך אפילו ארבע או חמש שנים ואם גמלוהו ופרש שלשה ימים או יתר מחמת בוריו לא מחמת חוליו אינו חוזר ויונק והוא שגמלוהו אחר כ"ד חדש אבל בתוך זמן זה אפילו גמלוהו חדש או שנים מותר לחזור ולינק עד סוף כ"ד חדש:

6

Although the milk of a non-kosher animal and the egg of a non-kosher fowl are forbidden according to Scriptural Law, [one is] not [liable for] lashes [for partaking of them. [This is derived from Leviticus 11:8] which states: "You may not eat from their flesh." [Implied is that] one is liable for lashes for [partaking of] their flesh, but is not liable for lashes for [partaking of] their eggs and milk. One who partakes [of these substances] is like one who eats half the minimum measure [of a forbidden substance]. This is forbidden according to Scriptural Law, but one is not liable for lashes. Instead, he receives stripes for rebellious conduct.11

ו

אף על פי שחלב בהמה טמאה וביצי עוף טמא אסורין מן התורה אין לוקין עליהם שנאמר מבשרם לא תאכלו על הבשר הוא לוקה ואינו לוקה על הביצה ועל החלב והרי האוכל אותן כאוכל חצי שיעור שהוא אסור מן התורה ואינו לוקה אבל מכין אותו מכת מרדות:

7

It appears to me that eating the eggs of non-kosher species of fish that are found in their bellies is comparable to eating the insides of the forbidden fish themselves12 and one is liable for lashes according to Scriptural Law. Similarly, when a person partakes of the eggs of a non-kosher fowl that are hanging in a cluster without being separated from the mother's body or completed, he is liable for lashes as if he ate the insides of [the fowl itself].13

ז

יראה לי שהאוכל ביצי דגים טמאים הנמצאים במעיהם כאוכל קרבי דגים טמאים ולוקה מן התורה וכן ביצי העוף הטמא התלויות באשכול שעדיין לא פירשו ונגמרו האוכל אותן לוקה כאוכל בני מעים שלהן:

8

When one partakes the egg of a non-kosher fowl inside of which an embryo has begun to take form, he is liable for eating a flying teeming animal.14If, however, one partakes of the egg of a kosher fowl inside of which an embryo has begun to take form, he is liable for stripes for rebellious conduct.15

ח

ביצת עוף טמא שהתחיל האפרוח להתרקם בה ואכלו לוקה משום אוכל שרץ העוף אבל ביצת העוף טהור שהתחיל האפרוח להתרקם בה ואכלה מכין אותו מכת מרדות:

9

[The following laws apply if] a blood spot is found on an egg.16 If it is found on the white, one should discard the blood and eat the remainder of the egg.17 If it is found on the yolk, the entire egg is forbidden.18 Unfertilized eggs - a refined person partakes of them.19

ט

נמצא עליה קורט דם אם על החלבון זורק את הדם ואוכל את השאר ואם על החלמון אסורה כולה ביצה המוזרת הנפש היפה תאכלנה:

10

When a chick is hatched, even if its eyes have not opened, it is permitted [to slaughter it and] eat it.20

When a kosher animal became trefe,21 its milk is forbidden like the milk of a non-kosher animal.22 Similarly, the egg of a kosher fowl that became trefe is comparable to the egg of a non-kosher fowl and is forbidden.23

י

אפרוח שנולד אף על פי שלא נתפתחו עיניו מותר לאכלו בהמה טהורה שנטרפה חלבה אסור כחלב בהמה טמאה וכן ביצת עוף טהור שנטרף כביצת עוף טמא ואסור:

11

When a chick is hatched from an egg from a trefe fowl, it is permitted, for it is not from a non-kosher species.24 When there is an unresolved question whether a fowl is trefe or not, we retain25 all the eggs it lays in its first batch.26 If it grows another batch and begins laying them, the first ones are permitted.27 For if it was trefe, it would no longer lay eggs. If it does not lay eggs, [the first batch] are forbidden.

יא

אפרוח שנולד מביצת טרפה מותר שאין מינו טמא היה העוף ספק טרפה כל הביצים שתלד בערימה ראשונה משהין אותן אם טענה ערימה שניה והתחילה לילד הותרו הראשונות שאם היתה טריפה לא היתה יולדת עוד ואם לא ילדה הרי הן אסורות:

12

The milk of a non-kosher animal will not congeal and solidify as the milk of a kosher animal does. If the milk of a non-kosher animal is mixed together with the milk of a kosher animal, when the mixture is [set aside for cheese to be made], the kosher milk will solidify and the non-kosher milk will be expelled together with the whey of the cheese.

יב

חלב בהמה טמאה אינו נקפה ועומד כחלב הטהורה ואם נתערב חלב טמאה בחלב בהמה טהורה כשתעמיד אותו יעמוד חלב הטהורה ויצא חלב הטמאה עם הקום של גבינה:

13

Accordingly, logic would dictate that any milk found in the possession of a gentile is forbidden, lest the gentile have mixed the milk of a non-kosher animal with it. And the cheese of the gentiles should be permitted, for the milk of a non-kosher animal will not form cheese. Nevertheless, during the age of the Sages of the Mishnah, they issued a decree against gentile cheese and forbade it, lest they use the skin of the stomach of an animal they slaughtered - which is forbidden as a nevelah28 - to cause it to solidify.29

If one would say: The stomach skin is a very small entity when compared to the milk that it is used to solidify. Why is it not nullified because of its insignificant size?30 Because it is used as the catalyst to cause the cheese to curdle. Since the catalyst which causes it to curdle is forbidden, everything is forbidden, as will be explained.31

יג

ומפני זה יתן הדין שכל חלב הנמצא ביד עכו"ם אסור שמא ערב בו חלב בהמה טמאה וגבינת העכו"ם מותרת שאין חלב בהמה טמאה מתגבן אבל בימי חכמי משנה גזרו על גבינת העכו"ם ואסרום מפני שמעמידין אותה בעור קיבה של שחיטתן שהיא נבלה ואם תאמר והלא עור הקיבה דבר קטן הוא עד מאד בחלב שעמד בו ולמה לא יבטל במיעוטו מפני שהוא המעמיד הגבינה והואיל ודבר האסור הוא שהעמיד הרי הכל אסור כמו שיתבאר:

14

[The following laws apply when] cheese is left to solidify with herbs or fruit juice, e.g., fig syrup, and it is apparent [that these substances were used for] the cheese. There are some of the Geonim who have ruled that it is forbidden, for [our Sages] already decreed that all the cheeses of gentiles are forbidden, whether they caused them to solidify with a forbidden entity or with a permitted entity.32This is a decree, [instituted] because they cause them to solidify using forbidden entities.

יד

גבינה שמעמידין אותה העכו"ם בעשבים או במי פירות כגון שרף התאנים והרי הן ניכרין בגבינה הורו מקצת הגאונים שהיא אסורה שכבר גזרו על כל גבינת העכו"ם בין שהעמידוה בדבר אסור בין שהעמידוה בדבר המותר גזירה משום שמעמידין אותה בדבר האסור:

15

When a person partakes of cheese from gentiles or milk that was milked by a gentile without a Jew observing him, he is given stripes for rebellious conduct.33 With regard to butter produced by gentiles, some of the Geonim permit it, for [our Sages] did not decree against butter and some of the Geonim forbid it,34 because of the drops of milk that remain in it. For the whey in the butter is not mixed with the butter35 so that it will be nullified because of its minimal quantity. And we suspect that any milk [from gentiles] is mixed with the milk of a non-kosher animal.

טו

האוכל גבינת העכו"ם או חלב שחלבו עכו"ם ואין ישראל רואהו מכין אותו מכת מרדות החמאה של עכו"ם מקצת הגאונים התירוה שהרי לא גזרו על החמאה וחלב הטמאה אינו עומד ומקצת הגאונים אסרוה מפני צחצוחי חלב שישאר בה שהרי הקום שבחמאה אינו מעורב עם החמאה כדי שיבטל במיעוטו וכל חלב שלהן חוששין לו שמא עירבו בו חלב בהמה טמאה:

16

It appears to me36 that if one purchased butter from gentiles and cooked it until the drops of milk in it disappeared, it is permitted.37 For if one will say that [drops of non-kosher milk] were mixed with the butter and it was all cooked together, they became insignificant because of the small quantity [involved].38 When, however, the butter is cooked by gentiles themselves,39 it is forbidden because of the effusion of gentile [foods], as will be explained.40

טז

יראה לי שאם לקח חמאה מן העכו"ם ובשלה עד שהלכו להן צחצוחי חלב הרי זו מותרת שאם תאמר נתערבו עמן ונתבשלו כולן בטלו במיעוטם אבל החמאה שבשלו אותה עכו"ם אסורה משום גיעולי עכו"ם כמו שיתבאר:

17

When a Jew sits near a herd belonging to a gentile and the gentile brings him milk from the herd, it is permitted [for him to partake of it] even though there are non-kosher animals in the herd. [This applies] even though he did not see him milk the animal, provided he could have seen him were he to stand.41 [The rationale is that] the gentile is afraid to milk the non-kosher animal lest [the Jew] stand and see him.42

יז

ישראל שישב בצד העדר של נכרי ובא הנכרי והביא לו חלב מן העדר אע"פ שיש בעדר בהמה טמאה הרי זו מותר ואע"פ שלא ראה אותו חולב והוא שיכול לראותו כשהוא חולב כשיעמוד שהנכרי מתיירא לחלוב מן הטמאה שמא יעמוד ויראה אותו:

18

When both of the ends of an egg are rounded, both are pointed, or the yolk is on the outside and the white is on the inside, it is certainly from a non-kosher species. If one end is pointed, the other rounded, and the white is on the outside and the yolk is on the inside, it is possible that it is the egg of a non-kosher species and it is possible that it is the egg of a kosher species.43 Accordingly, the Jew should inquire of the Jewish44 hunter who sells them. If he tells him that they are from such-and-such a fowl and that this fowl is kosher, he may rely on him.45 If, however, he tells him that they are from a kosher fowl, but does not mention its name, he may not rely on him.46

יח

ביצה ששני ראשיה כדין או ששני ראשיה חדין או שהיה חלמון מבחוץ וחלבון מבפנים בידוע שהוא ביצת עוף טמא ראשה אחד כד וראשה אחד חד וחלבון מבחוץ וחלמון מבפנים אפשר שהיא ביצת עוף טמא ואפשר שהיא ביצת עוף טהור לפיכך שואל לצייד ישראל שמוכרה אם אמר לו של עוף פלוני הוא ועוף טהור הוא סומך עליו ואם אמר של עוף טהור ולא אמר לו שמו אינו סומך עליו:

19

For this reason, we do not purchase eggs from gentiles unless one recognizes the eggs and can identify them as being from a particular kosher species of fowl.47 We do not suspect that they came from a fowl that was trefe or nevelah.48 And we do not purchase an [unshelled and] stirred egg from a gentile at all.49

יט

לפיכך אין לוקחים ביצים מן העכו"ם אלא אם היה מכיר אותן ויש לו בהן טביעות עין שהן ביצי עוף פלוני הטהור ואין חוששין להן שמא הן ביצי טרפה או ביצי נבלה ואין לוקחין מן העכו"ם ביצה טרופה כלל:

20

The distinguishing signs of fish eggs are the same as those for fowl. When both of the ends of an egg are rounded or both are pointed, it is non-kosher. If one end is pointed and the other rounded, he should inquire of the Jew who sells them.50 If he tells him that he salted them51 and removed them from a kosher species,52 he may partake of them on the basis of his statements. If he tells him that they are kosher, he may not rely on him unless he is a person who has an established reputation for observance.

כ

ביצי דגים סימניהם כסימני ביצי העוף אם היו שני ראשיה כדין או חדין טמאה אחד כד ואחד חד שואל לישראלי המוכר אם אמר לו אני מלחתים והוצאתים מדג טהור אוכל על פיו ואמר אמר לו טהורין הם אינו נאמן אא"כ היה אדם שהוחזק בכשרות:

21

Similarly, we may not purchase cheese and pieces of fish that do not have distinguishing signs except from a Jew who has an established reputation for observance. In Eretz Yisrael, at the time it was populated primarily by [observant] Jews,53 one could purchase these items from any Jew located there. And it is permitted to purchase milk from any Jew, anywhere.

כא

וכן אין לוקחין גבינה וחתיכת דג שאין בה סימן אלא מישראלי שהוחזק בכשרות אבל בארץ ישראל כשהיתה רובה ישראל לוקחין מכל ישראלי שבה והחלב לוקחין אותו מכל ישראל מכל מקום:

22

When a person pickles non-kosher fish, the brine produced is forbidden. The brine produced by non-kosher locusts, by contrast, is permitted, because they do not possess any moisture.54 Accordingly, we do not purchase brine from gentiles unless there is a kosher fish floating in it.55 Even one fish is sufficient.

כב

הכובש דגים טמאים צירן אסור אבל ציר חגבים טמאים מותר מפני שאין בהם לחלוחית לפיכך אין לוקחין ציר מן העכו"ם אלא אם כן היה בו דג טהור משוטט בו אפילו דג אחד:

23

When a gentile brings a trough filled with open barrels of brine and there is a kosher fish in one of them, they are all permitted.56 If they are closed, one opens one and finds a kosher fish and one opens a second and finds a kosher fish, they are all permitted.57 [This applies] provided the head of the fish and its backbone are present so that it is recognizable that they are from a kosher species of fish.58

For this reason, we do not purchased crushed, salted fish from gentiles which are called terit terufah.59 If, however, the head and the backbone of a fish is recognizable, even though it is crushed, it is permitted to purchase it from a gentile.60

כג

עכו"ם שהביא עריבה מליאה חביות פתוחות של ציר ודג אחד טהור באחת מהם כולן מותרות היו סתומות פתח אחת ונמצא בה דג טהור שניה ונמצא בה טהור כולן מותרות והוא שיהיה ראשו של דג ושדרו קיים כדי שיהא ניכר שהוא דג טהור לפיכך אין לוקחין דגים מרוצצין מלוחין מן העכו"ם והם הנקראים טרית טרופה ואם היה ראש הדג ושדרו ניכר אף על פי שהוא מרוצץ מותר ליקח אותו מן העכו"ם:

24

When a gentile brings a keg of pieces of evenly cut up fish and it is obvious that they are from one fish,61 they are all permitted if he finds scales on one of the pieces.62

כד

עכו"ם שהביא גרב של חתיכות דג שחתוכן שוה והן ניכרין שכולן מדג אחד ומצא בחתיכה אחת מהן קשקשין הרי כולן מותרות: