With the exception of certain locusts, insects are not kosher. And this includes crickets, which are not kosher.

Now, certain non-Jewish translations of the Torah actually include “crickets” in their English rendering of the four species of locusts that may be eaten. However, Jewish communities have carefully maintained traditions regarding which species are kosher, and crickets are not among them.

So enjoy their songs on long summer evenings, but be sure not to eat them!