Get the best of content every week!
Find answers to fascinating Jewish questions, enjoy holiday tips and guides, read real-life stories and more!

Soul, levels of

Knowledge Base » Human Being, The » Soul, The » Soul, levels of
Sort by:
Soul, levels of: The five terms Scripture uses to refer to man’s soul; each denotes a different gradation of the soul — in ascending order from Nefesh to Yechidah: Nefesh is the basic life-force or natural soul in general, and specifically relates to the soul’s basic or external manifestations in terms of the faculties of thought, speech and action. Ruach (Spirit) and Neshamah (Soul, Breath) are the spiritual life-force in man, relating to the Middot and Mochin respectively. Chayah (Living), often also referred to as Neshamah leNeshamah (Soul of the Soul), is the sublime root for the lower three grades. Yechidah (Only One; Unique) is the quintessence, the Divine spark as it were, the ultimate source of the soul — compounding yet transcending the lower grades. The higher grades of the soul are latently presenting the Nefesh, in proportionally increasing concealment, but it will become ever more manifest — to the point of conscious awareness — by man’s continuous self-improvement and spiritual ascent.
Related Topics
Yechidah (23)
Explore the five levels of the soul and discover how we access the deepest level on this holiest day of the entire year.
An introduction to the Kabbalistic concept of five levels of the soul.
Globalization & the End of Work: Lesson 2
Globalization & the End of Work
The divine soul involves five ascending levels of consciousness
The divine soul involves five ascending levels of consciousness
Four soul stages in our journey to the divine
The constant struggle to attain a deeper connection to G-d. Tracing the Kabbalistic dimensions of these stages and how they correspond to various aspects of our religious experience. (Based on a discourse of the Lubavitcher Rebbe.)
Rosh Chodesh
Why is the Redemption, the moment of our consummate fulfillment, analogous to the moon's rebirth, a moment when it emits only a diminutive and weak crescent of light?
Is it possible we've gotten these holidays all wrong?
Maybe we’ve got everything 100% wrong. Because if we’re thinking the holidays are backward, it’s likely we’ve got their meanings backward.
The Talmud Shabbat 21b. tells us, regarding the mitzvah of lighting Chanukah candles: "The House of Shammai says, 'On the first day you light eight, and from here and on continue to subtract [one light each day].' The House of Hillel says, 'On the first d...
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9