Get the best of content every week!
Find answers to fascinating Jewish questions, enjoy holiday tips and guides, read real-life stories and more!


Sort by:
Hadas: myrtle, used during the festival of Sukkot for the mitzvah of the Four Species
Related Topics
Aravah (16)
Etrog (33)
Hadas (7)
Lulav (11)
Naanuim (6)
Become a knowledgeable Four Kinds consumer!
For the adventuresome folks who wish to venture into the uncharted waters of the Four Kinds market, here are some basic guidelines and tips that, when followed, will allow you to be a relatively knowledgeable consumer.
SECTION 650 The Required Measure of the Myrtle and Willow Twigs. (1–2) 1 The minimum length that is required for the myrtle and willow twigs is three handbreadths, In the original, tefachim; see Sukkah 32b. i.e., 12 thumbbreadths. A thumbbreadth (gudal; o...
SECTION 646 Laws Relating to the Myrtle. (1–14) 1 [The Torah speaks of] “a branch of a braided tree.” In the original, anaf etz avos (Vayikra 23:40); popularly, hadassim. See sec. 645:1 and footnote 1 of that section. The Sages Sukkah 32b. interpreted thi...
Meditation in Movement
The movements we make with the Four Kinds each day of Sukkot are a meditation on bringing our emotions into balanced harmony. This meditation is grounded in the kavanot of the Ari, as explained in the siddur of Rabbi Schneur Zalman of Liadi.
On Sukkot we shake the lulav and etrog. Learn how to do this mitzvah of taking “the four kinds”.
Through the lulav, we draw down supernal consciousness
Through the lulav, we draw down supernal consciousness
The key to living life to the fullest
How the story of a Sage's strange behavior at a wedding provides the key to living life to the fullest. (Based on the maamar Bosi L'gani 5735)
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9