Pork is the meat of a pig, which is famous for being not kosher. The source of this law is Leviticus 11:7, where we read: “And the pig, because it parts the hoof and is cloven-footed but does not chew the cud, is unclean to you.”

This law applies to a variety of animals called hogs, pigs, or swine.

Now, the pig is just one of many animals listed in the Torah as non-kosher. So why was it singled out as the poster-animal for non-kosher? Perhaps because it is the only non-kosher animal widely eaten by non-Jews. But there is a deeper reason, which you can discover in Pigs and Judaism.