The 172nd prohibition is that we are forbidden eating from a non-kosher beheimah or chaya.

The source of this prohibition is G‑d's statement,1 "Among the animals that bring up their cud...there are some that you may not eat. These include the camel, the hare, the hyrax...and the pig."

Other non-kosher animals, however, are not listed explicitly; it is from the verse,2 "This you may eat every animal that has a true hoof...and which brings up its cud" that we know that without both these signs together, it may not be eaten. However, it is a prohibition which is implied from a positive commandment, which, as we have explained, is counted as a positive commandment. The general principle is that a prohibition which is implied from a positive commandment is counted as a positive commandment, and one is not punished by lashes.

However, from a kal va'chomer3 we learn that there is a direct prohibition against eating other non-kosher beheimos and chayos, and that one who does so incurs lashes. [The kal va'chomer is:] If one receives lashes for eating a pig or a camel, each of which has one sign of a kosher animal — certainly one receives lashes for eating another animal which has no kosher sign whatsoever.

Listen to what the Sifra says about this subject: "The verse 'This you may eat,' teaches that only that kind may you eat, and you may not eat one which is non-kosher. This teaches us the positive commandment; what is the source of the prohibition? The verse,4 'These are the ones that you may not eat from among the cud-chewing [hoofed animals: the camel... the hyrax...the hare...the pig...].' This teaches only these particular species; what is the source for other non-kosher species? It is a logical inference: 'if there is a prohibition against eating these animals, which have one sign of being kosher, certainly there is a prohibition against eating other animals which have no kosher sign whatsoever.'

"In summary, the camel, hare, hyrax and pig are prohibited by an explicit verse, and the other non-kosher animals are prohibited by a kal va'chomer. Therefore the positive commandment is derived from the verse, and the prohibition from a kal va'chomer. This kal va'chomer, however, is to reveal the existing law, as we explained regarding [the prohibition of incest with] a daughter," as explained in the appropriate place.5

Therefore, one who eats a kezayis of meat from any species of non-kosher beheimah or chaya receives lashes by Biblical law. Keep this in mind.