Get the best of content every week!
Find answers to fascinating Jewish questions, enjoy holiday tips and guides, read real-life stories and more!

Exodus, the Book of

Sort by:
Exodus, the Book of: The second of the Five Books of Moses, relates the story of the Israelites' slavery in Egypt, their Exodus, the Giving of the Torah, the sin of the Golden Calf, and the construction of the Tabernacle.
Related Topics
Shemot (87)
Va'eira (72)
Bo (79)
Beshalach (89)
Yitro (83)
Mishpatim (77)
Terumah (73)
Tetzaveh (63)
Ki Tisa (83)
Vayak'hel (65)
Pekudei (45)
Every year, Jews gather around the dinner table—if possible, with family and friends—to recall the Exodus at the Passover Seder.
They had conceived, become swollen and pregnant, but were stuck and waiting to deliver. The womb that had been Egypt was now a place of confinement. It was the midwives who corrected this disconnection and brought the redemption into the world...
The Bread Our Forefathers Ate in the Land of Egypt More than a mere commemoration of past history, a Jew­ish holiday is an event to be personally experienced and re­lived. Every Jewish holiday has a contemporary message for every Jew in every time and pla...
An Essay on Parshat Shemot
The exile and the redemption in Exodus were not a one-time event, but merely the paradigm for an event that recurs again and again throughout our history—exile followed by redemption followed by exile again—and thus the metamorphosis of the Jewish people ...
Parshah Curiosities: Shemot
The second book of the Torah, which is called the Book of Names, begins with again listing the names of the twelve tribes. Explore the importance and influence of a name, and other intriguing curios on Jewish names. For example, why don’t we find referenc...
Ch. 1 verses 1-8: Introduction, portion begins with the names of all the sons of Yaakov. It tells us that there were 70 souls total and that Yosef was in Egypt. That generation died. The next generation was exceedingly fruitful and the land was filled wit...
With time, I have come to the realization that life can be a comedy of errors...
Sefer Shemot
A chronological overview of the book of Exodus: enslavement, ten plagues, freedom, splitting of the sea, the Torah at Mount Sinai, the golden calf and the Tabernacle.
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9