Enter your email address to get our weekly email with fresh, exciting and thoughtful content that will enrich your inbox and your life.

Four Kinds, The

Knowledge Base » Calendar, The Jewish » Sukkot » Four Kinds, The
Sort by:
Four Kinds, The: the lulav, etrog, hadassim and aravot over which a blessing is recited on each of the days of Sukkot
Related Topics
Aravah (13)
Etrog (31)
Hadas (7)
Lulav (11)
Naanuim (6)
Expressing Our Unity
Four types of vegetation are taken every day of the holiday of Sukkot. Why these four? And how do we go about doing this mitzvah?
Become a knowledgeable Four Kinds consumer!
For the adventuresome folks who wish to venture into the uncharted waters of the Four Kinds market, here are some basic guidelines and tips that, when followed, will allow you to be a relatively knowledgeable consumer.
Through the lulav, we draw down supernal consciousness
Through the lulav, we draw down supernal consciousness
The Mitzvah of the Four Kinds
A closer look at the mitzvah of taking the Four Kinds on Sukkot, and what they each represent.
At the suggestion of my Chabad rabbi, I decided that I want to have my own lulav and etrog set for the holiday of Sukkot, so that my entire family can take part in the observance. When the holiday is over, should I just throw it in the garbage?
In order to beautify the mitzvah, we fasten together the lulav, hadassim and aravot (palm frond, myrtle branches and willow branches). For those who’ve never done it before, tying the lulav can be a bit tricky . . .
Meditation in Movement
The movements we make with the Four Kinds each day of Sukkot are a meditation on bringing our emotions into balanced harmony. This meditation is grounded in the kavanot of the Ari, as explained in the siddur of Rabbi Schneur Zalman of Liadi.
On Sukkot we shake the lulav and etrog. Learn how to do this mitzvah of taking “the four kinds”.
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9