Get the best of content every week!
Find answers to fascinating Jewish questions, enjoy holiday tips and guides, read real-life stories and more!

Yashan and Chadash

Sort by:
Yashan and Chadash: Chadash ("new") -- Grain that took root before Passover and is Biblically forbidden to be eaten until the 16th of Nissan. Yashan ("old") -- The same grain, after the 16th of Nissan, now permissible.
Related Topics
Anus (2)
Arvut (11)
Beard (28)
Beit Din (7)
Bittul (5)
Chazakah (3)
Cheirem (1)
Eruv (16)
Keli (3)
Kilayim (35)
Kinyan (11)
Mikveh, the (138)
Nazirite (19)
Orlah (18)
Terumah (26)
Apikores (2)
Karet (1)
I’ve noticed that next to the kosher certification on certain baked goods, it says “Yashan.” What does this mean?
Chassidic teachings unveil the pathology of “spirituality without sacrifice” through a fascinating halachic analysis. It revolves around the issue of kosher grain.
Learning Likutei Sichos vol. 17, Emor
The law of the new grain teaches that spiritual growth starts with speaking your body's language and progresses to stimulating your soul.
SECTION 489 The Order of the Prayers on the Second Night of Pesach; the Counting of the Omer (1-30) 1 It is a positive Scriptural commandment for every Jew to count the days of seven weeks Menachos 65b. Sefer HaMitzvos (positive commandment 161) and Sefer...
Grain from a newly planted crop (Chadash) may not be consumed prior to the offering of the ‘Omer’ in the Temple on the second day of Passover. No grain of the new crop may be brought to the Temple as an offering prior to the ‘Two Loaves’ offered on Shavou...
And what does it have to do with counting to Shavuot?
Contemporary Jews associate the Omer with the mitzvah of Sefirat Haomer, counting the days from the second day of Passover until the holiday of Shavuot. In truth, the Omer is the name of a special offering that was brought on the second day of Passover. A...
קיצור שולחן ערוך - סימן קעב
1 It is written:Leviticus 23:14. "And bread, and roasted grain and fresh grainThe Chinuch says “carmel” is grain roasted in its stalks. you shall not eat until this very day" etc. This means that it is forbidden to eat of any of the five species [of grain...
Not to wear women's clothes - The laws of new (grains)
Study the daily lesson of Sefer HaMitzvos for day 99 with Rabbi Mendel Kaplan, where he teaches the mitzvah in-depth with added insight and detail.
Women Learn Sefer HaMitzvot
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9