Enter your email address to get our weekly email with fresh, exciting and thoughtful content that will enrich your inbox and your life.
Register »


Sort by:
Shiva: (lit. seven) The seven day mourning period following the funeral of a deceased next of kin.
Related Topics
Shiva (36)
Kaddish (57)
Shloshim (9)
Onen (4)
Shiva, the seven-day period of mourning, is observed upon the passing of the seven close relatives listed in Leviticus: father, mother, wife (or husband), son, daughter, brother, and sister. 21:1-3. These relationships are enumerated within the context of...
Did you know that mourning for seven days is an ancient custom that predates the giving of the Torah? Learn all about it here.
It's more than appropriate. Bringing food to mourners is actually a traditional practice, and even alluded to in the Bible. In Genesis we read that Esau sold his birthright to Jacob for a pot of lentil soup. According to the Midrash, Jacob was actually pr...
I have heard that the reason is that we are not supposed to adorn ourselves while in mourning, but I am looking for a deeper explanation.
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9