Register »
Get the best of content every week!
Find answers to fascinating Jewish questions, enjoy holiday tips and guides, read real-life stories and more!

Five Books of Moses, The

Knowledge Base » Torah, The » Tanach » Five Books of Moses, The
Sort by:
Five Books of Moses, The: The first five books of the Tanach, dictated by G-d and transcribed by Moses during the Israelites’ journey through the desert. These books – Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy – chronicle events from Creation until Moses' passing and contain the 613 mitzvot.
These are the foundational texts of Judaism. Here’s what’s inside them…
The Torah, or Chumash, refers to the Five Books of Moses, also known as the Pentateuch. It comprises the first five books of the Torah.
The Five Books of Moses, Lesson 1
This lesson presents a basic overview of the Torah and its background history, its origins and authorship, the different sections and their themes, and a breakdown of the inside of a Torah Scroll.
Scroll Down - Part 1
What is the “literary” significance of the Giving of the Torah at Mount Sinai? The unique status and function of the Five Books of Moses within the biblical canon.
What was Rashi trying to do with his commentary on the Five Books of Moses?
The Book of Devarim is the greatest of the five Books, because it enables us to bring the first four into the physical world.
Author Yanki Tauber’s latest work focuses on the stories of Genesis from a Chassidic perspective
With Simchat Torah on the horizon, Jews around the world are gearing up to begin the annual study cycle of the Five Books of Moses. This year’s learning will be enhanced by a new series, The Inside Story: A Chassidic Perspective on Biblical Events, Encoun...
Browse Subjects Alphabetically:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9