Beer is made with barley that has been soaked in hot water, which causes the grain to ferment (and become bubbly and alcoholic). On Passover, we may not eat any food that contains fermented grain from wheat, barely, spelt, rye or oats. Known in Hebrew as chametz, this includes breads, cakes, and you guessed it … beer! So no, by definition, beer is not kosher for Passover.