Whisky is made from grains that have fermented. According to Jewish tradition, wheat, barley, rye and spent, oats and spelt are the “five grains,” which can become chametz when brought into contact with water. On Passover, it is forbidden to eat or even own chametz.

For this reason virtually all whiskey (including scotch and bourbon) is essentially not kosher for Passover.

A notable exception is whisky made from sorghum stalks, which (as of 2022) the OU certifies as kosher for passover (and kitniyot free, since it does not contain the sorghum seeds). When considering this drink for your Passover table, note that some (including Chabad) traditionally avoid all alcohol on Passover (with the exception of wine).

Learn more: Is There Kosher for Passover Alcohol?