Along with wheat, barley, rye and spelt, oats are one of the “five grains,” which can become chametz when brought into contact with water. On Passover, it is forbidden to eat or even own chametz.

Oatmeal (and most other oat products) is therefore not kosher for Passover. This is the case even if the oats were cooked very quickly and no “leavening” is visible to the naked eye.1 On the other hand, oats can be used for making kosher-for-Passover matzah. Oat matzah is an increasingly-popular option for people who cannot consume regular wheat matzah during the Seder.

Learn more about gluten-free matzah