Along with wheat, barley, rye and spelt, oat is one of the “five grains,” which can become chametz when brought into contact with water. On Passover, it is forbidden to eat or own chametz. Oatmeal is therefore not kosher for Passover. This is the case even if the oats were cooked very quickly and no “leavening” is visible to the naked eye.1