Soybeans are included in the general class of kitniyot, foods that Ashkenazim (and some Sephardim) may not eat on Passover. This would mean that tofu, soy milk, soy burgers, edamame, miso, tempeh, and soy sauce are all forbidden for Ashkenazim on Pesach even if they contain no chametz, grain which has risen. (For Sephardim, they would need to be certified kosher for Passover).

This was enacted because kitniyot dishes are similar to chametz. This prohibition also includes corn, beans and rice. This injunction was unanimously accepted by Ashkenazic Jews; many Sephardic Jews, however, continue to eat kitniyot on Passover. If you are Sephardic, speak to your rabbi to determine your family and community tradition.

The prohibition is only with regards to consumption of kitniyot; there is no obligation, however, to destroy or sell chametz-free kitniyot products before Passover.

Learn more about kitniyot