Rambam - 1 Chapter a Day
Parah Adumah - Chapter 8
Parah Adumah - Chapter 8
These activities are not considered as work. Therefore, they disqualify the water only when the person stands still to perform them.
With regard to questions concerning what is permitted or forbidden [the Rambam’s Commentary to the Mishnah (Parah 7:9)].
With regard to financial matters (ibid.).
The rite granting a childless widow the right to remarry. See Deuteronomy, ch. 25; Hilchot Yibbum VeChalitzah, ch. 1.
The rite allowing a girl whose hand was granted to a man in marriage by her family when she was underage to nullify that marriage arrangement (see Hilchot Gerushin, ch. 11).
The latter two examples seemingly apply even if he performed these activities while walking, for they can be considered as work (Kessef Mishneh).
The Kessef Mishneh explains that taking the food and eating it is not considered as work, because it is a necessary activity. Were he not to eat, he would not have the strength to continue his journey.
All agree that in this instance, the water is acceptable even though the person stood still to kill the predators, for he could not proceed without doing so.
Kiryat Sefer maintains that the water is disqualified because the person carrying it is considered to have diverted his attention from it.
The bracketed additions are made on the basis of the gloss of the Shabsie Frankel printing of the Mishneh Torah.
Our translation is based on the Rambam’s Commentary to the Mishnah (loc. cit.:12).
Without an intent to save or destroy it (ibid.).
And the watchman takes his place with regard to all matters.
Otherwise, there is someone who has not diverted his attention from watching the water.
I.e., we are speaking about an instance where in fact the person began the work before the ashes reached the water. If, however, the ashes reached the water before he began the work, the sanctification is completed and the water is acceptable.
As the Rambam proceeds to explain, since the person who performed the work is not the owner of the water or a watchman, the fact that he performed work does not disqualify the water. And the activity of sanctifying the water is not disqualified by the performance of work.
His colleague’s water is, however, sanctified and acceptable, because the activity he performed in attempting to sanctify his own water does not disqualify it.
The Rambam’s ruling is based on the Tosefta (Parah 6:3-4). There are questions regarding the proper version of both the Tosefta and the text here. We have followed the version found in the authoritative manuscripts and early printings of the Mishneh Torah. According to that version, this clause is a restatement of Chapter 7, Halachah 4. The Kessef Mishneh, however, suggests reversing the rulings both here and in the source.
I.e., he cast the ashes of the red heifer into one bucket of water with both his hands (Rabbenu Shimshon, as quoted by the Kessef Mishneh).
For sanctifying each bucket is considered as an activity that disqualifies the other.
We suspect that he filled the bucket before he sanctified the existing bucket. Hence, filling this bucket is considered as an activity that disqualifies the existing bucket. Then sanctifying the existing bucket is considered an activity that disqualifies the bucket that was now filled. If, however, he sanctified the existing bucket first and then filled the new bucket, both are acceptable.
By sanctifying them at the same time, he demonstrated that his intent in drawing them was to draw them as a single quantity (Rav Yosef Corcus).
The fact that he sanctified them separately indicates that at the outset, he considered them as separate entities and drawing each one disqualifies the other (ibid.). See also the notes to Chapter 7, Halachah 4.
I.e., cast ashes on one bucket with one hand and on the other bucket with the other hand. He does not disqualify either bucket belonging to a colleague by performing work while sanctifying it, as stated in Halachah 3 (Rav Yosef Corcus).
For he was performing work while drawing that bucket of water and any time one performs work while drawing water, it is disqualified, as the Rambam proceeds to state.
Because the performance of work does not disqualify water sanctified for another person.
Even though there are other watchmen, since he is holding the water, it is his actions that are significant (Rav Yosef Corcus).
That is not acceptable, as stated in Chapter 7, Halachah 2. The first bucket that was sanctified is not disqualified, because at the time it was sanctified, the one sanctifying it had not received payment. Nor will he receive payment later, because the sanctification of the second bucket is disqualified (Kessel Mishneh). The second bucket, by contrast, is disqualified, because the person who sanctified it—the owner of the first bucket—did receive payment, the sanctification of his bucket.
This applies only with regard to water that will be drawn in the future, but not to water that was already drawn, as in the following clause (Kessel Mishneh).
As stated in Chapter 7, Halachah 3.
As stated in Chapter 7, Halachah 2.
Thus even though the person sanctifying the water is considered as having the drawing of his water in mind, the sanctification is not disqualified as a result. Although it is considered as equivalent to performing work, there is no difficulty in performing work while sanctifying water [see the Rambam’s Commentary to the Mishnah (Parah 7:4)].
Hence, the fact that his water was sanctified first does not disqualify the drawing of the water.
I.e., he was sanctifying the water as payment for the other person drawing water for him.
This is speaking about a situation in which a person is preparing to sanctify his own water. Although any extraneous activity will disqualify the water, in these instances, the water is not disqualified, because these activities are necessary for the sanctification of the water.
Because he performed an activity that was not necessary for the sanctification of this water.
For the ashes are not disqualified by the performance of work.
I.e., he continued holding the container in his hand, because as the Rambam proceeds to explain, doing anything else would disqualify the water [see the Rambam's Commentary to the Mishnah (Parah 6:1)].
The Kessef Mishneh quotes Rabbenu Shimshon as explaining that returning the ashes to the container is not considered work.
Because once the ashes are cast upon it, it is not disqualified because of work.
We are speaking about a situation in which some ashes reached the water and others were floating on other ashes above its surface. The water is not disqualified, because some ashes reached it and from that time onward, work does not disqualify it. The ashes are not disqualified for future use until they actually touch the water, as stated in Chapter 9, Halachah 3.
To use it as a conduit at the opening of the container.
And thus less ashes would be used when sanctifying the water.
Because the activity was not performed for the sake of sanctifying this water, but for the sake of saving the ashes for the future.
The version of the Rambam’s source, the Tosefta (Parah 6:1), which the Ra’avad possessed (and which is the standard published text) differs from that cited by the Rambam. The Ra’avad does, however, admit that the rationale is easier to understand according to the Rambam’s version.
Because the activity is being performed for the sake of the sanctification of this water.
To purchase this book or the entire series, please click here.