Contact Us

The Weekday Prayers

The Weekday Prayers


There are three daily prayers: morning (Shacharit), afternoon (Mincha) and evening (Maariv).

The tradition of three services is attributed to the prayers of our forefathers. The morning prayer was learned from Abraham, the afternoon prayer from Isaac, and the evening prayer from Jacob.

The morning service is divided into several sections:

1) P'sukei D'zimrah, which consists of praise recognizing G‑d's creative force and love for His people.

2) Shema, which contains one of the most important statements in Judaism, the verse from Deuteronomy: Shema Yisrael Ado-nai Eloh-einu Ado-nai Echad – "Hear O Israel, the L-rd our G‑d, the L-rd is One."

3) The silent prayer, the Amidah, which is recited in a whisper, concentration and individual devotion peak during this time, so it is especially important that no conversation takes place.

4) The supplications.

5) On Mondays and Thursdays we read part of the Torah portion of the week.

6) The end of the prayers.

The afternoon prayer consists of the Amidah and supplications.

The evening service consists of the Shema and the Amidah.

The order of prayers represents an increasing level of concentration and holiness, culminating in the Amidah.

Based on materials by Kehot Publications, Beth Tefillah of Atlanta, Georgia, the Dawn & Keith Rinzler Philanthropic Fund and other sources. Compiled by Dovid Zaklikowski.
© Copyright, all rights reserved. If you enjoyed this article, we encourage you to distribute it further, provided that you comply with's copyright policy.
Related Topics
This page in other languages