Here's a great tip:
Enter your email address and we'll send you our weekly magazine by email with fresh, exciting and thoughtful content that will enrich your inbox and your life, week after week. And it's free.
Oh, and don't forget to like our facebook page too!
Contact Us

What Does Chumash Mean?

What Does Chumash Mean?


The word chumash (Heb. חומש) refers to one of the five books of the Torah, which are collectively known as the Five Books of Moses or the Pentateuch.

The word chumash (pl. chumashim) is derived from the Hebrew word chamesh (חמש), which means “five” or, more accurately, “a fifth.” The chumashim are:

  1. Bereishit: Genesis.
  2. Shemot: Exodus.
  3. Vayikra: Leviticus.
  4. Bamidbar: Numbers.
  5. Devarim: Deuteronomy.

The entire set is referred to as the Chamishah Chumshei Torah (חמשה חומשי תורה), literally, the “five fifths of the Torah.” Sometimes they are also collectively called “the chumash.” For example, when the Torah scroll is read in the synagogue, someone may announce that the portion to be read starts on a certain page of the chumash.

The chumash is also one of the staples of every Jewish home and business office. Other staples are: a charity box, a book of Psalms and a prayerbook.

See The Various Components of the Torah and What Is the Torah?.

Dovid Zaklikowski is a freelance journalist living in Brooklyn. Dovid and his wife Chana Raizel are the proud parents of four: Motti, Meir, Shaina & Moshe Binyomin.
© Copyright, all rights reserved. If you enjoyed this article, we encourage you to distribute it further, provided that you comply with's copyright policy.
Start a Discussion
1000 characters remaining
A synagogue is a place of Jewish worship. In addition to housing a sanctuary for services, synagogues (most notably Chabad centers) serve as the centerpoint of Jewish life.
Related Topics