But what is Chametz?
Chametz is leaven – any food that’s made of grain and water and been allowed to ferment and rise for more than 18 minutes.

Bread, cereal, cake, cookies, pizza, pasta, bagels, doughnuts…all these are perfect examples of Chametz.

In fact, any processed food that is not certified “Kosher for Passover” may include Chametz ingredients, especially if it contains one of the five grains: wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye.

Instead of Chametz, we eat Matzah:
A hard, cracker-like bread made from a dough of only flour and water which has not been allowed to rise. We eat Matzah to remember how quickly we left Egypt, and the pure faith we had in G‑d, that He would save us.

When G‑d told us it was time to leave Egypt, we left straight away, without stopping for a second! Our ancestors had so much faith in G‑d, that they put their dough in sacks on their backs, and left– without giving it time to rise. The hot desert sun baked the dough on their backs into the cracker-like bread we eat today: Matzah!

That is one of the reasons why Matzah is also called: “Michlah DeMeHemnutah” which means The Bread of Faith, in Aramaic.

On Pesach we remember the miracles G‑d performed for us, by putting the CRUNCH on Chametz and getting the MUNCH on Matzah!

© Copyright, all rights reserved. If you enjoyed this article, we encourage you to distribute it further, provided that you comply with Chabad.org's copyright policy.
Join the Discussion
Sort By:
13 Comments
1000 characters remaining
Spider-Man Dallas, Texas, USA April 15, 2017

HELP ME!!! So lemme get this strait...(I'm kinda new to all this)...anything with leaven in it is no good for Passover? Reply

Captain America Dallas, TX, USA October 25, 2017
in response to Spider-Man:

Yeah, basicly. Reply

Chani via chabadone.org March 26, 2017

Re Gluten and Gluten Free Matzah Hey guys, all wheat contains gluten and regular matzah is made with wheat so it does contain gluten. Gluten free matzah that can be used on Passover is made with oats that are processed in plants with no cross contamination with gluten products so as not to cause health issues to those who can't eat gluten. Hope this helps. Reply

Spider-Man Dallas, Texas, USA April 8, 2017
in response to Chani:

Thanks, buddy! Reply

Spider-Man Dallas, Texas, USA March 25, 2017

yeah- I agree with Rey! Answer our question please? Reply

Rey The Resistance March 4, 2017

question- What's the difference between gluten-free matzah and regular matzah? Seems to me that all matzah would be naturally gluten-free. Reply

Chabad.org Staff via mychabad.org January 18, 2013

Re Confused Passover is the English word, Pesach is the Hebrew word :) hope that helps. Reply

LOL January 10, 2013

Passover Why is there different words to do with the passover, confused... Reply

Menachem Posner for Chabad.org March 17, 2010

RE: Matzah Good question!

The key here is that matzah is a special cracker. When they bake the matzahs, special care is taken to ensure that the matzahs do not rise at all. On the other hand, these precautions are not taken in ordinary cracker production. Reply

Anonymous March 15, 2010

Matzah Matzah is a cracker. If Matzah is a cracker then we are able to have it. But we aren't able to have regular crackers because that cracker has leavening in it. Now that's confusing to me. Reply

Jackie CA March 26, 2009

chabad.org/kids i am a Christian School teacher. I make great use of your site as I teach my 6-8 years olds through the Old Testament. We celebrated Purim a few weeks ago and this Sunday we will celebrate Passover. Thanks for your well done presentation! Jackie Reply

Lisa Providence, RI May 1, 2008

Chametz vs. Matzah Wonderful! Reply

Jacob Babinec Buffalo Grove, Illinois via nwschabad.org April 5, 2007

passover mitzvahs When I heard that eating matzah was the most important mitzvah I thought my dad was crazy. But its true.
Reply