Contact Us
The science of preparing for this holiday is as ancient as the holiday itself. Visit here for a few useful crib notes...

Operation Zero Chametz

Operation Zero Chametz


Passover is a holiday that mandates our complete involvement, not just during its eight days but for weeks before. Aside from the regular holiday obligations, we are also commanded (Exodus 13:3–7): “No leaven shall be eaten . . . For seven days you shall eat unleavened bread . . . and no leaven shall be seen of yours [in your possession].”

We accomplish this by cleaning and inspecting our homes well before Passover, and gradually eliminating chametz from every room and crevice. This intensive cleaning takes place in Jewish homes throughout the world. The following wizard and articles will help you tackle the process in your own home.

Use this online form to sell your chametz for Passover.
Any chametz left undisposed must be sold to a non-Jew. Use this online form to quickly delegate a rabbi to sell your chametz for you.
Everything you need to know about Passover’s forbidden food
The medieval Jewish sages placed a ban on eating legumes (kitniyot) on Passover, because they are similar in texture to chametz . . .
Any area where one can reasonably suspect that chametz might have been brought throughout the year must be thoroughly cleaned . . .
Attic, Arts ’n’ crafts, Basement, Bedroom, Bed, Bed frame, Behind furniture, Bookcase, Books, Breadbox, Briefcase, Buffet . . . Windowsills, Woodwork, Yard . . . Also printable in PDF form!
We pay special attention to the kitchen, because (a) that’s where most of our chametz hangs out during the year, and (b) we will be using our kitchens to prepare our Passover food . . .
Koshering is the process by which one makes non-kosher vessels and utensils kosher. Regarding Passover, koshering refers to the process of making chametz vessels and utensils kosher for Passover...
Not just kosher—kosher for Passover
While shopping for Passover we must be careful that the foods we buy are not only kosher, but are also kosher for Passover—that is, chametz-free . . .
Join the Discussion
Sort By:
1000 characters remaining
Eliezer Zalmanov for April 12, 2015

Re: chametz Technically if the chametz isn't owned by a Jew there is no problem. But ideally it should not be brought into a Jew's home at all, lest it accidentally be mixed with the Passover food or utensils. Reply

Anonymous los angeles April 2, 2015

chametz what if someone brings chametz to our house? for example a maid brings her own chametz or a visior? Reply

?moishe los angeles April 2, 2012

"kashere" the root word "kuf,' "shin," "reish," means "bond," connection," "knot" Reply

Yehuda Shurpin March 28, 2010

Re: Consuming Matzah It is forbidden to eat Matzah on the day prior to Passover in order to ensure that one has an appetite for the Matzah at the Seder.

Some have the custom of not eating Matzah from the first day of the Month of Nissan. Others, including Chabad, have the custom of not eating Matzah 30 days prior to Passover (which happens to be the day of Purim). Reply

Anonymous Ra''anana, israel March 28, 2010

"kashere" I have heard that the word Kasher referring to Pesach does not only mean "kosher" but comes from 3 words with a kuf, shin and reish. can anyone give me an answer? Reply

Anonymous philadelphia, PA March 27, 2010

Consuming Matzah Is it proper to consume matzah on the days prior to Passover? Reply

Chani Benjaminson, January 13, 2010

Strategies Some people kosherize their kitchen for Passover before Shabbat, cook the Shabbat food using their Pesach utensils and use plastic tableclothes and disposable dishes. For challah many keep small rolls just for that Shabbat, enough to recite the blessing. I prepare a pizza dough style recipe for the Shabbat before Passover as I find it makes less crumbs. Reply

Anonymous Blue Ash, OH January 12, 2010

Working Mom strategies? This year, 2010, there is only a 1 day turn around in which to kasher the kitchen post-challah making between Shabbat and Erev Pesach. Any strategies for making this managable? Reply

Chani Benjaminson, March 27, 2009

Re: Drinking wine during Passover Good question! One of the rabbis on our Ask the Rabbi team already addressed this question in the past, please check out his response at this link. Reply

Armon ben Binyamin Lodi, CA March 26, 2009

Kosher wine Wines have alcohol and since alcohol is produced through the fermentation process and includes yeast, how can any wine be truly kosher? Reply

Chani Benjaminson, April 10, 2008

hamotzi From our Passover Calendar Guide: We make hamotzi on challah, here are instructions on how to go about doing so: Both Shabbat meals should be completely Kosher for Passover with the exception of two ounces of challah per person per meal. (It is forbidden to eat matzah on the day before Passover.)

The challah is carefully consumed over a paper napkin or tissue. Afterwards, the paper, together with any remaining chametz crumbs, is flushed down the toilet. Extra care should be taken that no chametz crumbs should fall on the floor.

At the designated time, one says the 'kol chamira' prayer on Shabbat morning, thus nulliyfing the chametz that we will burn on Friday. Reply

Anonymous April 10, 2008

Shabbat Kiddush this year If we do biur hametz on Friday morning, and refrain from eating matzah until Seder, how do we do HaMotzei over Shabbat? Reply

Anonymous Las Vegas, N.M. March 30, 2006

thank-you for this website We only have a very small Jewish community where I live. A friend of mine who is in our Jewish Sisterhood sent me your website address. I am grateful.

Dr. Caplan Reply

Related Topics