Here's a great tip:
Enter your email address and we'll send you our weekly magazine by email with fresh, exciting and thoughtful content that will enrich your inbox and your life, week after week. And it's free.
Oh, and don't forget to like our facebook page too!
Contact Us

More on Chametz

More on Chametz


What do we actually mean when we say chametz?

Any flour of the five species of grain, which is mixed with water and allowed to ferment before being baked, comes under the definition of chametz according to the Torah. The five species of grain are wheat, spelt, oats, barley, and rye.

The Sages established that the time necessary for the fermentation process to take place is eighteen minutes after water has been added to the flour; i.e., if water is added to the flour and nothing else was done to the mixture for eighteen minutes, the mixture becomes chametz.

The time when the mixture is being processed, kneading and rolling it out, is not part of these eighteen minutes. However, once the dough has been kneaded, we are careful not to leave it for a moment. By kneading it or otherwise working with it, the fermentation process is delayed and the mixture will not become chametz.

If the flour was mixed with only fruit juice or with eggs, it does not become chametz. However, because we fear that the water may inadvertently be mixed with the fruit juice or with the eggs, we do not do this; moreover, some authorities hold that fruit juice does ferment.

Chametz may not be consumed on Passover, either by eating it, or dissolving it in water and drinking it, and no benefit may be derived from it. It must be either burned or destroyed of in some manner.

Even a minute particle of chametz is forbidden on Passover. Even if the amount of chametz in a mixture is only 1/1000th of the total, the entire mixture is forbidden as chametz!

However, if chametz became mixed into food before Passover, it is nullified, provided that it is less than 1/60th of the volume of the entire mixture and that it has become completely dissolved into the mixture and cannot be discerned.

It is forbidden to eat chametz from midday on the fourteenth of Nissan, that is, from the beginning of the seventh hour. One who transgresses this prohibition is subject to lashes according to the Torah, for the verse states (Deuteronomy 16:3): You shall not eat chametz with it [the Paschal sacrifice]. The traditional explanation for this verse is that the prohibition of eating chametz starts from the time when the Passover sacrifice could be offered after midday of the fourteenth of Nissan.

The Sages, in order to prevent people from transgressing the prohibition inadvertently, decreed that the prohibition of eating chametz begins at the beginning of the fifth hour and the prohibition of deriving benefit from chametz starts at the beginning of the sixth hour. Thus, during the fifth and sixth hour the prohibition is Rabbinic; after the sixth hour the prohibition is from the Torah.

One who willfully eats a piece of chametz which is as big as an olive, from the night of the fifteenth of Nissan until the end of the twenty first of Nissan incurs the penalty called karet, Divine excision, for the verse states: For whoever eats chametz, that soul shall be cut off from Israel (Exodus, 12:15).

One is permanently forbidden to derive any benefit from chametz which remained in one's possession during Passover. This prohibition is a penalty which the Sages levied to punish the person for having transgressed the Torah prohibitions of not seeing or having chametz in one's possession during Passover.

This penalty applies whether the chametz remained in his possession on purpose or by accident or through oversight. The Sages levied this penalty so that people would not leave chametz in their possession for use after Passover (ibid.).

Rabbi Eliyahu Kitov, OBM, was one of Israel's most acclaimed religious authors, whose books on the Jewish way of life and the Chassidic movement have become renowned. Text translated from the Hebrew by Nachman Bulman and Dovid Landseman.
Excerpted from: The Book of Our Heritage. Published and copyright by Feldheim Publications.
© Copyright, all rights reserved. If you enjoyed this article, we encourage you to distribute it further, provided that you comply with's copyright policy.
Join the Discussion
Sort By:
1000 characters remaining
Nosson March 16, 2015

Yeast is certainly prohibited and giving chametz away to one in need is of course a mitzva provided that is he is Jewish he make sure to consume it before midday on the day before Passover or sells it. Reply Staff via April 28, 2014

To Cast Soy sauce contains wheat, it is used in the preparation/fermentation process. In fact not all soy sauces are gluten free/safe for this very reason. Reply

castcreator April 17, 2014

May I ask.... how do you know soy contains traces of wheat? Is it a listed ingredient of soy? Or teriyaki for that matter? Reply

Mrs. Chana Benjaminson via April 13, 2014

To Bruce Soy and teryaki sauce contain wheat or traces of wheat and cannot therefore be consumed on Passover. Kosher stores do sell Kosher for Passover versions, you may want to try one of them. A kosher and happy Passover! Reply

Bruce Portnoy April 13, 2014

I had hoped for a. Definition of WHAT is considered forbidden to consume. For example are Sesame and Soy and Terryacki sauce used for seasoning of Salmon forbidden or are they o.k.? This is urgent as our son-in-law is planning to marinate the Salmon in this mixture for the meal!
Please respond !! ASAP
Hag Samaach,
Bruce Reply

specialk LA, CA, US April 9, 2011

instead of selling chametz, can it be given away such as near my town there are many homeless people, who would like a treat, and i am not to be a judge of why they a re homeless, just giving it to them might brighten their day and see that someone thinks of them. (for the food)

anyways is this allowable Reply

Yonatan April 16, 2008

What about yeast? I know it may sound obvious, but I see no mention of yeast in this article; or is my understanding flawed? Reply

Related Topics